I like how he says “finally” the uniforms have arrived, when this was written on Saturday, June 24th (even though postmark is the 26th) – exactly two days after he arrived! Also note that cleaning is no longer described as fun, but is now deemed unnecessary.

I like how he says “finally” the uniforms have arrived, when this was written on Saturday, June 24th (even though postmark is the 26th) - exactly two days after he arrived!  Also note that cleaning is no longer described as fun, but is now deemed unnecessary.

Sat. June 24 1944 postcard front

Postmark: June 26, 1944

Dear Mom,  finally our uniforms were issued today, everything, summer, winter and fatigues.  So far the pants are tight and my winter blouse is also a little tight.  I’m pretty sure I can get new ones though.(I hope)  It’s raining again and were waiting (for a change) for something to happen.  Had my interviews last night and here’s hoping.  Met another Penn fellow.  Meals are good and plenty and even though the whole camp is spotless, we still clean.  That’s about all.  Love, Bru

I’m sending you my receipts for my insurance and bonds Please keep them.

 

Leave a Reply

