Bruce gets to shave and brush his teeth. First mention of the possibility of a phone call. Can you imagine? Four days in the hospital and just thinking to use a phone!

Unk gets to shave and brush his teeth.  First mention of the possibility of a phone call.  Can you imagine?  Four days in the hospital and just thinking to use a phone!

July 16 1944 pg 2 and 3

Sun.

Dear Folks,

Well, I finally cleaned my teeth for the first time here last nite.  I got a toothbrush from the Red Cross.  I still have no idea what the doily or thing-a-ma-jig I’m making is going to look like.  I’m just following orders and working.

“Paris Underground” is really a swell book.  Try to read it.  Have you started “My Ten Years in a Quandary?”  My handwriting may not be so good for a while as I’m on my back and using a book to write on.

It’s amusing when visitors pass thru the ward and some of them stop to talk to me.  They all ask if I have been overseas and I reply “Not quite – I’ve only been in the Army 3 weeks.”  They all have a different look on their faces.

Also when other soldiers or civilians find out I don’t smoke, they’re astonished.  They say – “You’re lucky,” or “Well, for lord’s sake,” or some reasonable facsimile (?).

We get more milk here than I ever got in the Army before, at least although hardly more, one cup per meal.

There’re two fellow in this ward who, when they’re quiet they’re alright, but when they’re noisy, they’re like morons.  One has a high pitched imbecilic laugh.

After lunch

I just shaved using cream, razor, and blade borrowed from three different men.  It was quite an event shaving in bed, with just a dishpan in front of me.  I feel so clean now.  I had an 1/8” beard.  Boy did I look shaggy.

I just thought that maybe someday you could call me, or vice-versa.  Altho, it would probably be easier for you to call me here at Ward 26 – A.  But maybe it’s best if you write me first and make arrangements. (But where can I go so that I won’t be around?)

Let me know

Love,

Bru

Click above for pages 2-3. July 16, 1944…Then….

CLICK HERE FOR TYPED VERSION

Leave a Reply

