You don’t want to miss this one!! A thrilling account of the day of the accident complete with jokes :)

You don't want to miss this one!!  A thrilling account of the day of the accident complete with jokes :)

July 17 1944 pg 2

july 17 1944 pg 3

July 17 1944 pg 4

Mon.

Dear Mom, Dad, and Paulie,

Guess What?  Right now I’m listening to the Breakfast Club – It comes on at 8am down here instead of 9.  One of the ward boys put a tiny radio on my table and it’s swell listening to it.  It’s an ornery critter; sometimes I can just about hear it while other times it plays loud enough to be heard thru out the ward.

What about this big storm I hear and read about.  Has it hit Wildwood or the vicinity?

I forgot to tell you about my experience coming here.  I was carried on a litter, out of the ravine, to an ambulance which took me to the nearest dispensary.  There they, a medical corps captain and a few soldiers, put the splint on my leg after putting it on wrong once.  I knew they weren’t doing such a hot job as they were banging my leg and also the captain himself admitted a few times that the splint wasn’t put on perfectly.  A few more soldiers, in the medical corps, came up and helped and stood around.  I soon got fed up and in a room full of officers, I called out, “Is there a doctor in the house?” I received a hearty approval from the audience, and continued to the best of my ability to joke around.  Shortly afterwards they loaded me back into the ambulance and drove me to the Station hospital at South Camp, 35 miles away.  We had gone a few miles when we were stopped and told, “Artillerty fire overhead.  Travel at your own risk!”  Of course, in the true spirit of the medial corps, my driver started out immediately.  I pictured myself a wounded soldier being driven thru heavy shell fire, to the hosptial.  But not once did I hear the screech, or boom, or even the plop of a dud.

Probably the warning was just a formality (I hope).  We arrived at the hospital where two x-rays were taken.  Then we were sure my femur was fractured, as up until that time they thought it may have been a torn muscle or ligament as the thigh bone isn’t usually broken in the manner I did it.  But I doed it!!!

We stayed there for about another half hour during which I got a local anesthetic, in my arm, which made me sleepy.  Then back into the ambulance again for another 30 mile haul to McCloskey.  Here my bone was set and I was plopped in bed, all except my right leg which remains out of the covers and held by about 40 lbs of concrete.  There’re weights all around me, supporting and leveling the splint.  They are just regular tin cans filled with a concretish or  cementish substance.

Do you think you could send me Strawbridge’s sponsored edition of the “Bulletin.”  You know those half pint sizes that you get in that department store and maybe at other places.  I would like to see a good newspaper as the things they have here are 6 page daily’s with 5 pages of local news and sell for 5 cents.

Just had a glass of grapefruit juice.  We get some kind of juice daily.  Another jolly chaplain was around today.  We have many recreational facilities here, but there’s still nothing like human companionship.  Am having my foot massaged now.

That’s all,

Love,

Bru

Click above to see pages 2-4… July 17, 1944…. then… CLICK HERE FOR TYPED VERSION if you like!

Leave a Reply

