If he wants to be a good soldier, he has to be good and obey his mother!

If he wants to be a good soldier, he has to be good and obey his mother!

July 24 1944 pg 2 and envelope

Mon. July 24, 1944
Dear Mom,
Got the hangers, socks and cookies and candy today. Right now I’m in a quandary as to what to do. I imagine they’ll put the socks and hangers away for me. Also a Red Cross worker came in and spoke to me about telegrams from Mickey, asking if I can be transferred. First of all, I thought that it was impossible to get transferred, but she said that it wasn’t. But it is while I’m still in traction because traveling will interfere with the healing of my bone. But after I’m out of traction it may be a different story. But don’t count too much on it. I’m not. She also said that my family was still worried. Haven’t I told you everything that’s happened? There’s no sense in worrying!
Air mail gets here quicker all right, but why waste so much money for the sake of one or two days? huh? By the way, did I get my final marks from Penn? I’d love to see them.
Wally told me a few of them but I don’t know most of them.
Gee, Paulie sounds so cute, and tell him if he wants to be a good soldier, he has to be good and obey his mother. When I get out of bed, I’ll send him things. If he’s good. Please tell him that.
Well, Mom, I think that’s all,
Love,
Bru
P.S. I have so many boxes they had to give me another little table.

Leave a Reply

