Bruce makes a typographical error and wants to be acknowledged for his clever jokes

Bruce makes a typographical error and wants to be acknowledged for his clever jokes

 

July 31 1944 pg 2

Mon. July 31, 1944 (Satisfied?)

Dear Mom,
Two letters from you today, plus one from Selma Kramer, Aunt Gert, Et Kirson, Jim Oser who also enclosed a letter from Fred Walls who’s somewhere in the Pacific. The letter was misaddressed and finally wound up at the Osers.

I’m sending my rug plus the air mail stationary that I won to you. I can’t use the stuff here and I know you can. Oh yes, also 2 boxes of candy. One from Aunt Dot and the ‘other from Jerry Beker came today. I’m so loaded down with goodies that it’s becoming a problem. I have many boxes stored away in the kitchen. My gosh. NO, I’m not sending the 2 boxes of candy to you. That a typographical error.

My bed looks as it did when I was sick at home. Full of junk, cluttered up with magazines, newspapers, extra boxes etc and all the traction apparatus that there’s just enough room for me.

Didn’t you like the crack about “Is there a doctor in the house?” The officers laughed much more at hat one than about the sarge being busted (which i don’t think he was).
I haven’t been paid yet, but it’s still early (in the week).

Nothing new about my leg. The major just feels and presses around the break then goes on to the next patient.

That’s all for now

Love,
Bru

Leave a Reply

