Personally, I think the army is losing a heck of a lot of good money over me.

Personally, I think the army is losing a heck of a lot of good money over me.

aug 21 1944 pg 2

Thurs(sic)must be Monday, August 21, 1944

Dear Mom,

That’s funny no letter from you today but one from Betty, Don, Stan and Aunt Lottie. Finally there is a regular correspondence between Betty and me.

I asked the major if the bones had slipped out again and he smiled and said, “no.” That’s a relief, but I still wonder what makes with the misery. Gee, a week ago I could do anything with (out?) hurting but now I can just about move my leg. Oh, it isn’t that bad. I can still move plenty, but I get the strangest sensations. But it doesn’t interfere with my work, play, fun and etc. The last x-rays look a little better, at least in top view it’s more noticeable. They’re straight now but slightly overlapping on the slanty break. What a diagnosis!

Yipee! Tomorrow I get paid. Personally, I think the army is losing a heck of a lot of good money over me. I could understand it if I shot down 30 planes or killed 500 Japs or something! I don’t know if I ever told you, but my accident occurred in Line of Duty. That’s important because I can get treatment in a government hospital after my discharge from the army if something happens to my leg again. Free too (I think). Fellows who were hurt not in Line of Duty can’t get this. At least I picked a good time to get hurt.

Mil sent me Bob Hope’s “I never left Home.” It’s hilarious.

I hope I didn’t sound despondent in any way. If you got that impression, get rid of it immediately. I’m perfectly happy (HA HA) and am enjoying myself. Only I’m a little mad not worried. But that’s passed off now. I’m sending the picture to you today. Brace yourself!

That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

