bruce won’t eat black-eyed peas

bruce won't eat black-eyed peas

sept 21, 1944 pg2

Thursday, September 21, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad and Paulie,

Thank you and a Happy New Year to you.

The inspection yesterday made me feel pretty happy. Major Blair (the inspector who Major Renshaw takes around) said something about putting me in a brace soon. That’s what he said a about Carl and Carl was still put in a cast. But anyway, it’s still an indication that I may be coming out soon.

Don’t know how this paper got so dirty.
It’s getting hot again, no blanket, no top and just sheets at night. Just crazy weather!

We had one of the best dinners today that I’d ever had since I came here. It was chicken, dumpling, fried tomatoes and ice cream. Sometimes we get the strangest kind and varieties (of) food. Stuff that even I can’t eat, such as black eyed peas, turnip tops, etc. Maybe when I get to go to the mess hall the food will taste better at least that’s what everybody says.

I got a radio next to my bed on a chair but the nurse doesn’t know about it as she has been off this morning. We’re all waiting to see what happens. Once before we tried to get it in here but she wouldn’t let us. The radio, I believe, belongs to the Red Cross and is for the patients.

My leg looks very funny as it has fallen off considerably. It will develop again in time, but now it looks like a kid’s leg when I compare it with my left leg. It happens to everybody.
That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

