Fingers of steel!

Fingers of steel!

sept 22 1944 p2

Friday, September 22, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad, and Paulie,

Well 3 months in the army today and 2 months and 10 days in the hospital. That’s a record that can’t be beat. The major asked, as usual, “How do you feel.” I answered, “I feel as though I want to come out of this.” – He just laughed-for a change. That guy’s driving me batty! Oh yeh. I have a clinical increase in strength around the break, at least that’s what the major told his secretary to write down. Sometimes the captain, who is the major’s side-kick, feels around the break. Boy! Such a grip! Fingers of steel! He not only presses at the break but starts way above and comes down like a steel spider stopping at the break and saying, “Does it hurt when I press here?” – “No, sir” Then he takes time out to blow his nose, hay fever you know, and continues with his manipulations.

I’m sorry if I caused you any embarrassment in that belated letter writing affair. I’m just lazy, pure unadulterated lazy. I have only written to you and Betty for the past week or so. It’s too damn hot again to do much of anything.

We were all given a rose yesterday. Pretty red, sweet smelling roses. Gives a nice atmosphere.

Are Marnie and Marian in Texas yet? I’m really looking forward to their visit.
I can’t think of anything else. That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

