This is Bruce’s mummy writing to Bruce’s mommy.

This is Bruce’s mummy writing to Bruce’s mommy.

sept 26 1944 p2

Tuesday, September 26, 1944 (he wrote 27, but that’s wrong)

Dear Mom, Dad and Paul,

Boy am I plastered! This is Bruce’s mummy writing to Bruce’s mommy. As you can guess I’m out of traction and enveloped in a plaster cast, covering my entire right leg and continuing up to my stomach. I’ll have it cut so I can sit up this afternoon, but it feels like about 15 tons right now.

I have the pin as a souvenir, it came out as easy as pie after cutting it off close to my leg on one side. Then I was carted to a monstrous contraption that has a place for head and shoulder, another plate to sit on, and two thigmjigs for my feet. My ankles we covered with gauze and then they stretched my legs and tied my feet down. The rolls and rolls of plastered gauze came next taking about 10 to 15 minutes to wrap me up. It was soaked in hot water so I felt nice and warm, but now the cast is hard and cold as it is drying under an electric fan set next to my bed. Oh yeh, today is exactly 11 weeks or exactly 2 ½ months in traction. I’ll have to start counting my days in the cast now. I had about ¼ “ leeway around my stomach before chow but now it’s tight. Tomorrow will probably be my first day for a wheelchair as it takes about a day for the cast to dry.

I got a very nice letter from Dean Goff(?) that I am enclosing. It was a very nice gesture on his part. (or does he always do things like that to keep students?)

It’s sort of cloudy now and maybe it will rain later. Hope we have a good movie. I think it’ll be “Canterbury Ghost” with Chas. Laughton.
That’s all,
Love, Bru

One thought on “This is Bruce’s mummy writing to Bruce’s mommy.

Leave a Reply

