Life is good in a wheelchair!

Everybody ducked and ran to the walls and we whizzed by

sept 28 1944 p2

Thursday, September 28, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad and Paulie,

Am now resting in bed from a vigorous morning’s exercise in a wheel chair. For the first time since I broke my leg I went outside and sat for about ½ hour in the morning sunshine. We went down a ramp and sat on the pavement (in the chairs of course). Last nite I went to the PX then to a good USO show and sports quiz. I may go to see “Casanova Brown” tonite. Just for the record I stood up today. The cast weighs about 15 tons and soon my left leg began to tremble so I scooted right back in bed. Soon as I finish this letter I’m turning over on my stomach and take a nap.

Got another nice letter from H. Sherman Oberly, dean of admissions at Penn.

I haven’t gotten any exercises since I’m out of traction. They are probably thru with me but I’m not sure. Heck, I get more exercise from 15 minutes in a wheel chair than they can give me all day. Last nite I had to be pushed all the way home from the show and we did the last corridor at about 60 mph. Everybody ducked and ran to the walls and we whizzed by and me yelled “toot, toot”

Well that’s all
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

