I know only too well that we have those new M-18 Tank Destroyers.

I know only too well that we have those new M-18 Tank Destroyers.

sept 29 1944 p2

Friday, September 29, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad, and Paulie,

Going backwards I made it up the ramp to visit upstairs this morning. I rested at 1/2 way and 3/4 intervals. Coming down was almost as much fun as the Jack Rabbit, but of course not as fast. Went to the thee-atre last evening and did see “Casanova Brown.” Very funny. I don’t know what we’ll have in the ward tonite.

Boy it was cold last nite and this morning but is warming up now.

I know only too well that we have those new M-18 Tank Destroyers. Those were the damn things that always kicked up so much dust when we were marching. It was like walking thru a dust storm and what griped me so much was that our newly cleaned and dubbed shoes always came out white with dust. Then we have to clean them all over again. This happened at least twice a day.

Yes, I know the M-18 very well, except while I was at Hood they were still on the secret list and we called the T-70s. Same difference!

Soon I’m going to venture to the O.T. shop and music room which is next door to it.

Everything is getting easier to do, such as turn over and back again, stand up, drive my buggy, etc.

We’re having our birthday party at 3:30 this afternoon.

Well, that’s ll

Love,
Bru

Leave a Reply

