this is the life, going to the thee-atre in my town car!

this is the life, going to the thee-atre in my town car!

Oct. 4 1944 p2

Wednesday, October 4, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad and Paulie,

I saw two wonderful movies yesterday. In the afternoon from 1 to 4 down at the Red Cross, I saw “Since You Went Away.” That’s the kind of picture that’s bound to win an Academy Award somehow and somewhere. There are a few scenes that were close to “home,” both Phila. and here. Pictures of wounded soldiers and men with artificial limbs is nothing new to me. I never have seen more amputation cases, both arms and legs, than I have seen here. Legs off anywhere from a few toes to the whole darn limb and even both sometimes. Their spirit is really wonderful, at least the ones I’ve seen, yelling laughing, joking and going to shows in wheel chairs as if nothing was wrong with them. There were plenty of tears in that movie, in fact too darn much, everybody was bawling at least half the time. (I mean in the picture, not us.)

Then last nite we saw “Going My Way,” in the ward. That was very good, also. Today I’ll probably see Abbott and Costello “In Society.” o.b. ! this is the life, going to the thee-atre in my town car! Home, James!-and then I get somebody to push me back.

No mail today. Just two papers. Pretty old at that.

I believe we’ll have a bingo game this afternoon. O YES, inspection today too. Maybe I’ll see my latest x-rays.
That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

