I’m really getting my money’s worth out of this hospital.

I’m really getting my money’s worth out of this hospital.

oct 14 1944 p2

Saturday, October 14, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad and Paulie,

Well I’m really getting my money’s worth out of this hospital. This morning I was transferred to a private room.(where I can be sick in privacy, I guess) and they’re filling me up with pills every 3 hours or so. (2 sulfa and 6 soda). My throat feels perfectly normal but the captain has ordered it swabbed a few times daily. My stomach is bothering me the most. It feels heavy, as if I want to throw up. I’ve had the captain go over me twice already and I’m back on a soft (liquid) diet again. Of course I still have a fever and feel sort of sleepy. I think it all started from an induced fever caused by the pressure exerted by the wedge in my cast. Then probably something else developed from that, but I don’t think it’s anything very important or serious. I’m pretty sure it will go away when my cast is removed and probably before that.

I saw last nite’s movie in comfort. I had my bed pushed around and the back raised a little so I could see. It was “Home in Indiana,” a technicolor picture about harness racing. Pretty good.

Well that’s all,
Love, Bru
P.S. I didn’t write yesterday because I slept most of the day.

Leave a Reply

