For over an hour I saw the prizes disappearing

For over an hour I saw the prizes disappearing

oct 22 1944 p2

Sun Oct. 22, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad, and Paulie,

Four months in the Army today. (3 months and 10 days in the hospital) but nobody’s supposed to know that.

Last night I went down to the Red Cross to play bingo. They had card tables set up and I just pulled up to one in my buggy. One table was full of prizes, chock full of everything under the sun. The games started but my luck took a powder. For over an hour I saw the prizes disappearing while I just sat and lost and lost. Finally with only 2 prizes left and with just one number open to win, something happened, I won. So I came back “loaded down” with a pocket dictionary.

No mail from you today but I did receive a letter from Betty and a card from Mil.

I went outside in the sun for a few mintes this morning, but it was just a little too windy for comfort.

If possible I’m going to gosomewhere this afternoon and get weighed. I’ll probably tip the scales at 225.

Have you found the exact date for the reservations yet?

I can’t think of anything else,

Love,
Bru

Leave a Reply

