I had a subconscious feeling to grab my tin hat and run for the nearest air-raid shelter

I had a subconscious feeling to grab my tin hat and run for the nearest air-raid shelter

oct 27 1944 p2

Friday, October 27, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad and Paulie,

A few of us were bit by the Monopoly bug again this morning. We had to break up at chow time but one fellow was so far ahead, we bestowed the honor of winning the game upon him.

Yesterday afternoon we were entertained (?) by a woman singer and her piano accompanist (doesn’t look right). They were both pretty old especially the piano player. She (the singer) started howling and I had a subconscious feeling to grab my tin hat and run for the nearest air-raid shelter. I almost bit my tongue in two to keep from laughing. Her repertoire was strictly from hunger, nothing later than the last war. One song was about how good “corn-bread, butter-milk and good old turnip greens are. I almost threw up just thinking about it. At the end of the program she asked if there were any requests and sure enough someone yells “Shoo Shoo Baby.” She looks thru her dilapidated music, brown with age, and says, “No, I’m sorry. I don’t have that one.” HAW! Her stuff was so old, she probably had an original copy autographed by Stephen Foster.

Last nite, at the Red Cross, we saw Mario Monty and Jon Hall in “Gypsy Wildcat.” It’s a Technicolor adventure all about gypsies, castles, moats, heroes, villains, fights: a typical Errol Flynn Robin Hood picture.

The O.T convention doesn’t start until tomorrow. So maybe then-
That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

