But I won’t tell them because I don’t want to go upstairs

But I won't tell them because I don't want to go upstairs

nov 4 19440001

Sat. Nov. 4, 1944

Dear Mom, Dad, and Paulie,

Well, here I am back in the ward again in the same bed, too. A new fellow came in last nite and was put in my room, so I had to excavate.

This morning the nurse asked the major if I could go upstairs. He said, not yet because my cast was too unweildy for climbing stairs. After they left, I had to make sure and to my surprise found it pretty easy to go up and down the stairs. But I won’t tell them because I don’t want to go upstairs with my cast on. I hope it will be taken off in a few days.

I just found out that some sections, mainly the colored section, of Temple, are out of bounds to soldiers. So make sure that your room is in bounds, so I can come to visit you when I get a pass.

Last nite we had a U.S.O. show that was all Russian. There were singers and dancers all dressed up in colorful costumes. I enjoyed the dancers the best – you know all the typical dances, real fast, down in a crouch and kicking one’s legs out, leaping high in the air and clicking their feet, saber and sword dances. The baritone announced that he would sing “The Volga Boatwen”, so before the song started my friend and I sang, not too softly either, “Yo heave ho, Uhhhh!!” It sounded so funny that everyone near us burst out laughing and it continued through most of the song. There was a girl singer was continually giving on eof the fellows the eye while she was singing. We all had a good time.

That’s all,
Love,
Bru

Leave a Reply

