I’m free!

I’m free!

dec 9 1944 p2

Saturday, December 9, 1944

Dear Folks,

Just like a little baby, I can proudly say that I took my first steps today. With the major’s permission I walked without crutches or brace. Of course I still use the brace for long distances but for around the ward, I’m free! When I asked him this morning, he smiled and sayed, “Sure, you can put some weight on it now.” So, I ups and walks, not too gracefully or smoothly, but I walks. So now it’s practically in the bag that I’ll be home for New Years, or sooner if I wish.

Last nite after seeing Abbott and Costello in “Lost in a Harem,” which was very funny, we came in for the last act of a swell USO show that will tour the wards for a few days. This afternoon I’m going to see “Buck Benny Rides Again” with Jack Benny and probably see a basketball game tonite. So you see I’m very busy, with Physio in the morning and entertainment in the afternoons and nites.

I finished my wrist band and even if I say so myself, it’s not bad. The idea is radical, but it works.[see sketch in letter]

It’s all of dark brown leather which looks very nice with the gold of the watch. Also the whole thing didn’t cost a red cent. I picked the leather out of the scrap basket and I was given the lacing.

Well, that’s all,
Love, Bru

One thought on “I’m free!

  1. I’m assuming his drawing of the bracelet doesn’t do it justice!
    Also – just an observation – Bruce is taking his first solo steps about FIVE months after the accident. Long road to recovery

Leave a Reply

