Of course I was graceful as a dying elephant

Of course I was graceful as a dying elephant

Sunday, December 17, 1944

Dear Folks,

Sorry, but I’m coming when I said I would. First of all, I couldn’t postpone it a week because we’re not supposed to travel 4 days before X-mas until after New Years. Secondly it was probably too late to change it and thirdly, I couldn’t possibly sweat out another week.

I bought my ticket ($40.20) and will leave 19th arriving morning of 21st at about 9:30(if train is on time).

A few nights ago we had a dance and finally, with stiff leg and all, I tried it. Of course I was graceful as a dying elephant and quit after 3 dances, but I dood it!

This afternoon I’ll see “The Doughgirls” and tonite, “Hollywood Canteen.”

It’s still very beautiful down here. Bright sun and slightly nippy but not cold at all.
That’s all,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

