Time moves slowly when you’re waiting for a furlough

Time moves slowly when you're waiting for a furlough

Friday, December 15, 1944

Dear Folks,

I felt good this morning when the major dictated the weekly progress note to his secretary. He said that the muscle tone is very good, knee bend of over 45o, am weight-bearing without support and am being given a furlough. I also turned my brace in back to the brace shop. Before I come home I’m going to try and get a new pair of shoes (my size) in exchange for the ones I’m wearing.

Saw a marvelous movie last nite. “To Have and Have Not.” It’s really swell.

Boy! Are these last few days going suh-lowly! It seems that the first 5 months passed quicker than this last week. I’ve thought of a million things to see and do when I come home, but I wonder if I can do them.

Tomorrow I’m going to town and buy my ticket.

Nothing else,
Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

