after a pretty long wait I got a ride in an ice truck

march 4 1945 p2

 

Sunday, Mar 4 1945

Dear Folks,

Yep. Dallas, as usual, altho there were times yesterday when I doubted if I would ever get here.  My usual good luck in catching rides went hay-wire after reaching the Waco highway.  I waited (I came alone this time) for ¾ of an hour and finally was picked up by 2 officers.  We had gone about 16 miles when their car blew a gasket or something and we limped to the nearest town where I had to start all over again.  I got a ride to the Waco suburbs in a bread truck making 3 deliveries on the way.  After 2 bus rides I was on the Dallas road where after a pretty long wait I got a ride in an ice truck, who’s driver had to stop for some coffee on the way then took the long way into town.  I was 2 hours later than usual.  My bad luck continued as I couldn’t get a date with the cadet nurse I met last week.  Finally my luck changed and I got a room at Mrs. Lewis! (where I stayed 2 weeks ago).  While I was at the USO I met and talked with 2 nice guys.  One a corporal from Phila and an air corps sarg. from Overseas.  We spent all nite together, not doing anything special, but having a lot of fun.

I’m going to call my friend and probably go back with him.  (He’s been AWOL since last Fri. and is still in Dallas).

That’s about all,

Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

