A Game Warden and his siren

march 5 1945 p2

 

Monday, Mar. 5, 1945

Dear Folks,

We had our 7 mile hike this morning as we missed both the 5 and the 7 last week.  The major will be coming around tomorrow and I have a feeling I’ll be shipped out.  I had no trouble at all this time and came in with the rest.  (I believe, tho, that they were walking slower than usual).

We got a ride from Dallas to Waco with what I thought at first was a Texas Ranger, but what turned out to be a Game Warden.  He had a uniform, short-wave radio black-jack, and a siren which he used for fun to scare unwary hitch-hikers and any “road-hogs” we passed.

In Waco we saw “Practically Yours” which was very funny.

This afternoon I gave an orientation lecture on “The Jap Soldier” mostly from an army book on that subject.  I threw in a lot of jokes and outside stuff and was complemented on the whole thing.

Another fellow and I are going into Camp to see “A Tree . . .Brooklyn.”

That’s all,

Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

