a last big splurge and probably spend 50 ¢.

a last big splurge and probably spend 50 ¢.

march 20 1945 p2

Tuesday, March 20, 1945

Dear Folks,

Well, definitely I ship out tomorrow, but I received a phone call from S. Camp saying that I was assigned to the Medical Detachment there. That is the last place I want to be stationed in and the medics the last branch. For all I know I’m now a ward-boy-I passionately hope not. Also all the reports I’ve heard about that place I’ll probably get a furlough in 2 years from now. I don’t mind admitting it, right now, I don’t feel any too happy. But I just hope and pray some good deal is waiting for me.

I’m going in to Gatesville tonite for a last big splurge and probably spend 50 ¢.

I found the enclosed letter in an old stationary packet (I am using it now). It was the first letter I received at Camp Hood and was of course written way before I got hurt. It was very funny to read the paragraph I have marked, especially the underlined sentence.

 

I’m gonna have to look through the box of letters and try to find the letter he refers to….

Leave a Reply

