a very interesting old codger

april 15 1945 p1 april 15 1945 p2 april 15 1945 p3 april 15 1945 p4

 

Sunday, April 15, 1945

Dear Folks,

Today was also a very interesting and educational day. Last nite I went to the J. W. B. and met a nice girl who goes to the U. of Texas. She said she’d take me around the campus on Sunday if I liked and gave me her phone no.

I went back to my room and slept ‘till 10 and had breakfast with 2 other soldiers who slept there also. One was more or less a permanent week-end guest and he took his friend and me to visit a retired army major who lives next door. This major, who is 71, was a very interesting old codger and we talked just about everything from the war to politics to books. He is also about the most active man for his age I’ve ever seen.

After our visit, the corporal (the one who knew the major) said he had gone to the nearby army airfield last week and had flown for a few hours in one of the transport planes they have there. They have some trips to nearby cities and also just training flights that last for hours. We all went to the field but just missed the main take-off and there weren’t any other flights so we just walked around. Boy was I excited, that was the first time I’ve seen real army planes in the flesh, altho most of them were transports. If possible I’m going back next week early and go up if they’ll let me.

Coming back from the field I left the other 2 fellows when a woman stopped and said she could take one. Boy oh boy! what a gal!

Her husband is a major overseas and she just talked a blue streak the whole 8 miles from the field to town. She just blahed and blahed, pausing only to take a deep breath. I couldn’t even get a word in edgewise all I could do was nod my head and murmer, “yes”.

Coming back I caught a ride with another soldier right back into camp. We also picked up 2 more fellows on the way. One of them is a nice guy from Syracuse who was wounded overseas, the other a cockie whose father owns a coal mine in Kansas. This spoiled brat (I guess he is) says he gets an extra $100 a month from home and will be worth $400,000. He went to college and majored in psychology (a strange thing for a boy, in fact he wasn’t much of a boy anyway). Just the perfect poor little rich boy, but well educated and not a bad guy.

Right now I’m in the service club and will probably go to see “Without Love” at the post theater. I doubt if that picture has come to Phila. yet. Oh by the way, A few nights ago I saw the new Jack Benny picture, “The Horn Blows at Midnite” and truthfully it was the most hilarious picture in one long time. I laughed so hard I was out of breath. See it by all means.(it’ll probably be too senseless and silly for Ruth Beker, but that’s the kind of stuff I like.)

That’s all,

Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

