according to their point system for getting out of the army, I’ll get out in 1951

May 7 mislable 1945 p1 May 7 mislable 1945 p2 May 7 mislable 1945 p3 May 7 mislable 1945 p4

Thursday May 7, 1945 (Misdated, from context really Thursday, May 10, 1945)

Dear Folks,

Had to come to Killeen to get a half way decent haircut.

Yesterday and today were movie days, so naturally I decided to take a “busman’s holiday” and see “Valley of Decision” with Greer Garson at the Post theater. It was pretty good, more of a comedy than I thought possible.

I just thought about the furlough business-I doubt if I’m able to go overseas yet, but they’re shipping out as many able-bodied men as possible, and probably as soon as my leg gets better, I’ll go somewhere myself. In fact according to their point system for getting out of the army, I’ll get out in 1951. But I believe this system is only temporary and after Japan’s defeat it will be changed more liberally or eliminated altogether. Anyway, what I’m getting at is my old saying, ”Take a furlough when you can get it.” One never can tell what’s going to happen in the next 2 months. Sometimes they are temporarily frozen, but of course, the chances are that nothing’ll go wrong. I don’t like the idea of getting one right now. I could probably on May 16, or June 1, June 16, or July 1. Then maybe I wouldn’t get it on July 1, but I think I would because that’d be over a year without one and that would be pretty high priority. Do you think that from June 16 to July 1 would be good? Oh I guess July 1 to 16 would be best but it seems so far off. I couldn’t get it on May 16 because I don’t have enough for train fare. I have about $37, and fare is $40. Of course after pay day, I’ll have another $35.

Oh nuts I’m just talking in circles.

Don’t worry about the airplane business. I won’t go up too often and when I do I’ll make sure with the pilot that nothing will happen.

Tomorrow we go on the air. We couldn’t rehearse today so we’ll probably have to tomorrow morning.

That’s all,

Love, Bru

Leave a Reply

