Heading home on furlough!

Weds, May 16, 1945

I have to do something between trains and I don’t want to go walking in the rain….so!  The Katy was almost on time and I hope I can say the same for the Jeff.  Wow, that was pretty hectic about 1.5 hours ago. The Katy came in about 8:45 and a fellow said that Pennsy train that leaves at 9:12 has some reclining chairs (?).  So,  I dashed off the Texas Special, down the ramp, around the gate, down the ramp and up the steps into the “American” but, no super-chairs.  It was getting close to the train time all the time (naturally).  I grabbed a seat, told the fellow I was with to save it for me, if I come back by train time, and if I don’t, well – not save it.  Down the steps, up the ramp, thru the gate to the Passenger agent’s offices.   I found out that the Pennsy agent was at gate 18 (where I came from).  Back again to gate 18, where I asked him if I could get a reservation on the Jeff and he says “Yes – at the ticket offices.”  In a khaki streak I was at the ticket office where I found many lines.  Aha!  A short one (only 3 people) and I zoomed in there (note – 5 min. for “American” train time if I can’t get reservation).  Finally, it’s my turn and I GOT THE RESERVATION – WHEW!!  If I didn’t I believe I could have got back to my seat on the American by the skin of my chinny-chin-chin.

So, hence the hours to kill until 12:40 (time – 10:40).  O wot lousy weather! (??)

That’s all, Love, Bru

Leave a comment