I just signed my furlough

May Western Union

Monday, May 14, 1945

Dear Folks,

Everything happens to me – at once, too!  A furlough a month and a half ahead of time, 2 weeks unwashed laundry, not enough money, then a whole package of food that has to be eaten in one day (which it can’t, so I’ll leave it here for the fellows.  I’m bringing home, what I think, I hadn’t opened it, is a jar of something.) Whew!

Yesterday I went flying again.  This time we went on a 3 hr. cross country navigational hop.  It was swell, I even had the earphones on and worked my radio.  There was an extra map so I figured out our course and time of arrival. I wasn’t too far off, only a few minutes.  Pretty good for no instruments.  I, of course, was sitting up front and talked with the pilot all about different instruments and controls.  My friend was enjoying himself at first, so I left him writing a letter in back of the navigator’s table.  Some time later after slightly bumpy flying (which I liked very much) I turned around and there he was, sitting on the floor, his head in his hands and his face dripping with perspiration – airsick.  He even threw up in a bucket seat (very convenient) He then sprawled out on the floor and went to sleep.  It never affects me that way.  Why, while I was I even ate a bag of peanuts and an orange.

I just signed my furlough and found out I get it a day earlier than I expected.  I get 10 days plus 5 traveling.  I’m leaving tomorrow morning.  I hope the money arrives.  Please tell Betty, no never mind, well maybe her letter might be delayed, so tell her.

That’s all.  Love, Bru

Leave a comment