6.7.45 – Cutting grass with bayonets

June 7 1945 p1

June 7 1945 p2

Thursday, June 7, 1945

Dear Folks,

More soldiering today, but right now I’m in the Guard House – I’m on guard, remember – for the rest of the nite.  I’m extremely lucky in being a supernumary (and extra – just in case) for the first relief, so most probably I won’t go on and can sleep all nite (in the guard house, tho).

This morning we rigged and finally made our full field packs, just for demonstration purposes, altho we went on for drill with light packs. Our packs are of an entirely new design and wear well.  In the afternoon, the sgt. made a mistake by asking for all men who can’t hike and drill to fall out.  Out of about 120 men, 80 some fell out – the sgt almost fell over.  Most of us just wanted a light duty slip, so while others went to sick-call we got light duty – picking up stones on the field and cutting grass with bayonets.  We gold-bricked almost the whole time, but I’d much rather do the regular stuff than this so-called light duty, especially when the regular duties aren’t that strenuous and the light duty won’t keep me from going over seas anyway.  I’ll see more about it tomorrow.

No mail yet, altho I didn’t expect it anyway.  Hope I can get a pass tomorrow.

That’s all, Love, Bru

Leave a comment